International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Raising the Banners of Freedom: Activism and CivicParticipation of Children and Youth in Light of Article 12 of the UNCRC

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Université de Moncton

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Raising the Banners of Freedom: Activism and CivicParticipation of Children and Youth in Light of Article 12 of the UNCRC

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Université de Moncton

Credited Courses

Credited Courses

Offered from June 25 to 30, 2023, as part of the International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

First meeting is on June 25, 2023 at 3:30 p.m. for the Anglophone group and at 2:00 p.m. for the Francophone group in room 142 of Adrien-Cormier Pavilion.

The courses will then take place from Monday to Friday, 8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in the same room.

Course Description:

Theme : The largest minority in the world: Special focus on the rights of children and young people with disabilities or with special needs.

The 5-day International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child (offered in English and French) focuses on children's rights and the well-being and healthy development of youth around the world. This multidisciplinary training is offered on the Moncton campus of the Université de Moncton. It brings together people from various fields of study interested in children and adolescents, researchers, employees of non-governmental organizations, members of professional associations working with children and youth, and staff of child rights institutions from around the world.

The historical and philosophical foundations of children's rights are presented as well as the content of the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the workings and implementation mechanisms of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. The course also allows people to reflect on the rights of children of minorities, including indigenous minorities; to use knowledge of child psychology and factors related to healthy child development to better understand the importance of these rights and the work that remains to be done; to reflect on the right of the child to be educated for democratic citizenship in a culture of peace; to analyze the multiple implications of the Convention on the Rights of the Child on professional practices and to identify courses of action and concrete steps to better enforce these rights.

Although the theme of the course is children's rights, each year the course content focuses on a different article or articles from the Convention on the Rights of the Child. In the summer of 2023, the course will focus on activism and civic participation of children and youth in light of Article 12 of the CRC.

TSOC4463 - The Rights of the Child
TSOC6432 - Directed Thematic Studies ''The rights of the child''

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Lever les bannières de la liberté : Activisme et participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Université de Moncton

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Lever les bannières de la liberté : Activisme et participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Université de Moncton

Cours crédités

Cours crédités

Offerts du 25 au 30 juin 2023 dans le cadre du Cours d'été international relatif aux droits de l'enfant

Première rencontre le 25 juin 2023 à 14 h pour le groupe francophone et à 15 h 30 pour le groupe anglophone au local 142 du pavillon Adrien-J.-Cormier.

Les cours auront lieu par la suite du lundi au vendredi, 8 h 15 à 16 h 30 dans le même local.

Description du cours :

Thème : La plus grande minorité au monde : Focus spécial sur les droits des enfants et des jeunes en situation de handicap ou à besoins particuliers.

Le Cours d'été international relatif aux droits de l'enfant (offert en français et en anglais) de 5 jours est axé sur les droits de l’enfant, le bien-être et le développement sain des jeunes du monde entier. Cette formation multidisciplinaire est offerte sur le campus de Moncton, Université de Moncton. Elle regroupe des gens de divers domaines d’étude qui s’intéressent à l’enfance et l’adolescence, des chercheures et des chercheurs, des employées et employés d’organisations non gouvernementales, des membres d’associations professionnelles œuvrant auprès des enfants et de la jeunesse et des équipes de travail des institutions chargées de la défense des droits de l’enfant d’à travers le monde.

Les fondements historiques et philosophiques des droits de l’enfant sont présentés ainsi que le contenu de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant et les rouages et les mécanismes de mise en œuvre de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. Le cours permet aussi aux gens de réfléchir sur les droits de l’enfant des minorités y compris les minorités indigènes; d’utiliser les connaissances de la psychologie de l’enfant et les facteurs reliés au développement sain d’un enfant pour mieux cerner l’importance de ces droits et le travail qu’il reste à faire; de réfléchir sur le droit de l’enfant à être éduqué à la citoyenneté démocratique dans une culture de paix; d’analyser les multiples implications de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant sur les pratiques professionnelles et identifier des pistes d’actions et des démarches concrètes pour mieux faire respecter ces droits.

Bien que portant sur le thème des droits de l’enfant, chaque année, le contenu du cours met l’accent sur un article ou des articles différents de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant. Durant l’été 2023, le cours portera une attention particulière sur l'activisme et la participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12 de la CIDE.

TSOC4463 - Droits de l'enfant
TSOC6432 - Études thématiques dirigées « Les droits de l’enfant »