International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Raising the Banners of Freedom: Activism and CivicParticipation of Children and Youth in Light of Article 12 of the UNCRC

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Université de Moncton

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Raising the Banners of Freedom: Activism and CivicParticipation of Children and Youth in Light of Article 12 of the UNCRC

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

Université de Moncton

Call for proposal

Call for proposal

International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child

12th Edition

June 25th  to 30th 2023, University of Moncton, Canada

Raising the Banners of Freedom - Activism and Civic Participation of Children and Youth pursuant to Article 12 of the UNCRC

‘Young people are capable, when aroused, of bringing down the towers of oppression and raising the banners of freedom.’, Nelson Mandela

The International Summer Course on the Rights of the Child is a privileged forum for exchanges among professionals working with children. It contributes to the promotion of best practices and the rights of the child as fundamental human rights under the International Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC). It also aims to encourage decision-makers to develop public policies and programs to protect the best interests of children in New Brunswick, in Canada and around the world. The 12th edition of the Summer Course will focus on a collective reflection on issues related to activism and civic participation of children and young people in relation to article 12 of the UNCRC.

Along with non-discrimination, the best interests of the child, and the survival and development of the child, participation is one of the main principles and fundamental values of the Convention and its application extends to all of the rights guaranteed under the treaty. This specific principle is guaranteed under iarticle 12 which provides that "the State Parties guarantee to the child who is capable of discernment the right to express his opinion freely on any question which interests him, the opinions of the child being given due consideration having regard to his age and degree of maturity"[1].

Also, the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child reinforces the right to informed and meaningful participation since it states in its General Comment No. 12 that "All processes in which the opinion and participation of one or more children are approached must be: transparent and informative, voluntary, respectful, relevant, child-friendly, inclusive, supported by training, safe and risk-informed, and responsible".

However, in most societies, the realization of the right of the child to express his or her views on the wide range of issues that concern them, and to have that view duly taken into account, continues to be hampered by numerous deeply rooted practices and mentalities and by political and economic obstacles[2].

In this context, what are the policies and strategies to be developed and implemented to enable the exercise of this right? What are the mechanisms that make it possible, in the formal or informal sectors, to offer an effective response to enable these children and young people to participate in an informed and meaningful way? How can we train and equip all stakeholders who work with children and make decisions affecting them to be knowledgeable and respectful of the child’s right to participate?

The Organizing Committee invites professionals from around the world and from Canada to share initiatives or reflections that seek answers to these questions in order to be able to discuss during the next edition of the Summer Course.

The Scientific and Organizing Committees of the Summer Course invite researchers, professionals and practicing professionals to propose communications that include the conceptual analysis, the implementation or the evaluation of the proposed themes. This forum for multidisciplinary exchanges on children's rights will be held on Campus at the Université de Moncton, Canada. The training is aimed at front line staff in child rights oversight offices, in schools, in child protection settings, in the health sector, recreational sector, public safety sector and community sectors who work primarily with and on behalf of children and young people. This year’s summer course is part of a multi-disciplinary three-year cycle aimed at training front line staff in the basic principles of child rights implementation. A hybrid format for the summer course is also envisaged. Professionals and researchers from different backgrounds are invited to intervene according to the general themes below:

THEMES

1 - Activism and civic participation in relation to the right to a healthy environment and the right to the highest possible state of health and development

Articles 24 and 29 of the UNCRC provide protective rights for children in relation to the environment. Article 24 is linked to the right of the child to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of health, including the right to have safe food and drinking water as well as to be protected against pollution. Article 29 relates to the right of the child to information about environmental health issues. It further defines environmental education as one of the objectives of education.

In addition, the right to a safe and clean environment is a global priority identified in Goals 6 and 7 of UNICEF's 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development[3].

Yet 1.7 million children lose their lives each year due to preventable environmental problems. Millions more children are forced to leave their homes, drop out of school and suffer from disease[4].

Faced with these facts, young activists all over the world, like Greta Thunberg in Sweden who leads the fight for carbon dioxide emission reductions, are mobilizing and campaigning for change.

In Canada, Autumn Peltier was only 8 years old when she made her first speech in favor of access to drinking water on Aboriginal reserves in Canada. Since then, the teenager from Wikwemikong First Nation has become a global spokesperson for this cause, carrying this message at the United Nations Water Day conference in 2018[5].

The United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child is also mobilizing and is currently working on a draft General Comment on the rights of the child and the environment with a particular focus on climate change (General Comment No. 26). Most importantly, this General Comment is shaped by children and young people and especially by those in communities most affected by the environmental crisis.

The Scientific Committee invites contributions on the importance of children's rights and child participation in relation to climate change, and the rights to a healthy environment and the highest possible level of health and development. Initiatives from the public sector, the private sector and civil society are invited to submit and to clearly identify the elements of success in relation to these issues.

 

2 - Activism and civic participation for inclusion and protection against discrimination — Issues of minority communities, including LGBTQIA+ and First Nations

Non-discrimination is one of the main principles of the UNCRC and as such governs the implementation of all of its articles. Faced with still too many obstacles to this fundamental value, children and young people are mobilizing and campaigning for an inclusive and respectful society.

For example, the Black Lives Matter movement is a political movement born in 2013 in the United States within the African-American community, which militates against systemic racism and fights to bring justice, healing and freedom to black communities across the world.

In Canada, organizations like Equitas are mobilizing to provide the opportunity for young people across the country to participate in national conversations on equality, inclusion and diversity and learn to respond to the problems of their community by launching projects of community action[6].

In the United States, Jazz Jennings campaigns to defend the rights of the LGBTQIA+ community. In 2007, at the age of 6, she spoke in a television spot on the difficulties of being a transgender child. She is one of the youngest people publicly identified as transgender.

The Scientific Committee invites proposals for conferences dealing with movements and initiatives related to the right to participation and the right to protection against discrimination or to education and awareness of different cultures and inclusion.

 

3 - Activism and civic participation in relation to mental health and available mental health services

Article 24 recognizes the right of children and young people to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of health. Beyond physical health, the right to health of children and young people also means a right to well-being in general and includes the right to appropriate treatment in terms of mental health.

According to the most recent available global estimates, more than one in seven adolescents between the ages of 10 and 19 live with a diagnosed mental disorder[7]. Nearly 46,000 adolescents commit suicide each year, making it one of the top five causes of death for this age group. At the same time, significant gaps persist between mental health needs and the funding allocated to this issue.

 

Also, the harmful effects of the pandemic on the mental health of children and young people are growing significantly, with more and more young people reporting an increase in feelings of stress and anxiety in recent years.

Increasingly, young people are speaking out and mobilizing for better access to mental health services, and in particular they are mobilizing to open up and speak freely to combat stigma and share their lived experiences.

All over the world, platforms such as Headspace in Australia, Jigsaw in Ireland, or Foundry or Access Open Minds in Canada are emerging and allow children and young people to come into contact with other young people, to appropriate a space and tools for their own mental health, or to get in touch with a professional.

Also, in the field of research, the right of children and young people to participate and to have their opinion duly taken into account in research that concerns them is emerging as the dominant and standard practice.

Increasingly, the adage “Nothing about us without us” and the implementation of “By and for young people” practices are finding their place and being claimed and defended by young people.

The Scientific Committee invites proposals dealing with promising practices, case studies, policies or programs to better implement the right to participation of children and young people in relation to their mental health and their meaningful involvement in matters that concern them.

 

4 - Activism and civic participation in connection with participation in justice and political life

Article 12 of the Convention places particular emphasis on taking the views of the child into account in “any judicial or administrative proceedings”.

Thus, a first part of this right includes the participation of children and young people before the courts; a right that goes beyond simple freedom of expression. This right applies as much to children in trouble with the criminal justice system as to child victims of a criminal offence, or to children involved in family proceedings, for example in matters of custody or adoption.

The United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child, in its General Comment No. 12[8], reiterates the importance of this fundamental right in the context of justice for children. In the same vein, the Committee in its General Comment No. 24[9] addresses several recommendations to Member States in order to guarantee the effective participation of children in the procedure. In this sense, child-friendly justice initiatives stand out as best practices in the field.

Participation in justice can also take the form of actions taken directly by children and young people to defend their rights and interests. Thus, many class actions brought by young people have emerged around the world.

A second part of this right includes the participation of children and young people in political life.

In the spirit of an associative and participative democracy, the UNCRC in its preamble insists on the importance "of fully preparing the child to have an individual life in society". Thus, children and young people should participate in the decision-making process with adults on the issues of their social, political, economic life, etc.
 

According to the Committee on the Rights of the Child, in its General Comment No. 12[10], it is important to provide for different methods for the participation of children at the community, national and international levels. The systems of municipal youth councils or youth parliaments promote the application of this right.

The Scientific Committee invites proposals dealing with initiatives, best practices, case studies or examples of class actions, court interventions, political campaigns, human rights complaints and other means through which children have demanded their rights before judicial or administrative tribunals or alternatively of the processes and procedures through which those tribunals have accommodated or facilitated they participation of children and young people.

 

5 - Various themes

The themes proposed above do not claim to be exclusive in any way. Therefore, a limited number of proposals will be able to address other aspects that have not been mentioned, provided that these fit with the general subject of the Summer Course, as described above.

 

TYPES OF COMMUNICATIONS

Please specify the presentation format in your application. There are four formats available:

Round Table : 1- to 3-hour presentation by several presenters. Please submit a title, a summary of the presentation, the names of the other participants, and the time needed, accounting for periods of discussion and the number of participants.

Oral Presentation : The length of each presentation (from 20 to 30 minutes) is determined by the Organizing Committee depending on the number of presentations received.

Workshop : Workshops (from 60 to 90 minutes) can be about techniques for using a tool, an approach, or a practice. Workshops are more effective with a smaller group of participants.

Poster Communication : This format provides the opportunity to present the results of a research, an approach, a tool or a practice in the form of a poster. Poster dimensions should not exceed 60cm x 120cm (2ft x 4ft) in portrait format or 120cm x 60cm (4ft x 2ft) in landscape format. You must submit the abstract of your poster communication.

The Committee will do its best to respect your choice of formats but reserves the right to use a different format if necessary.

Child and Youth Proposals are actively encouraged for this edition of the summer course. A separate Child and Youth Programs will be available throughout the week, but children and young people will be encouraged to present alongside their adult peers and to co-create with them as learners throughout the event. Please see the online Call for Proposals for Child and Youth Presentations, however mixed panels of adult and youth presenters are welcome in response to this Call for Proposals as well.

 

TERMS OF SUBMISSION AND POSSIBILITY OF PUBLICATION

Anyone who wants to submit a proposal for an oral presentation in one of the two official languages of New Brunswick and Canada - English or French - is invited to do so.

Your presentation proposal must respect the following criteria in order to be reviewed:

  • The summary can be no longer than half a page in length. Please specify which of the themes you will address (Theme 1,2,3,4 or other theme), the presentation format, and the title.
  • Your proposal must include a small biography (250 words maximum) and a picture of you, sent as two separate Word or PDF documents. In order to maintain anonymity, your proposal (Word or PDF) must not contain anything that could identify you personally.
  • Please specify if you want to be published in the Revue de l’Université de Moncton. The rules for publication will be sent to authors who are confirmed as participants.

*NOTE THE EXTENDED DEADLINE TO DECEMBER 31st*

Please submit your proposal before December 31, 2022. The Organizing Committee will assess proposals and evaluate their ability to enrich the dialogue.

Submit your application

[1] Convention on the Rights of the Child, United Nations, https://www.ohchr.org/fr/instruments-mechanisms/instruments/convention-r...

[2] Resolution S-27/2, “A world fit for children”, adopted by the General Assembly in 2002. CRC/C/GC/12

[3] UNICEF and the Sustainable Development Goals, Investing in children and young people to achieve a more equitable, just and sustainable world for all, https://www.unicef.org/sdgs#sdg10

[4] United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child, General Comment No. 26, https://childrightsenvironment.org/about/

[5] United Nations Water Day, Autumn Peltier, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zg60sr38oic

[6] Equitas, Speaking Rights Program, https://speakingrights.ca

[7] The State of the World's Children 2021, On My Mind: Promoting, protecting and caring for children’s mental health, https://www.unicef.org/reports/state-worlds-children-2021?utm_source=ref...

[8] Committee on the Rights of the Child, United Nations, General Comment No. 12 (2009), paragraphs 57-64, https://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/crc/docs/advanceversions/crc-c-gc-...

[9] Committee on the Rights of the Child, United Nations, General Comment No. 24 (2019), paragraph 46, https://www.ohchr.org/en/documents/general-comments-and-recommendations/...

[10] Committee on the Rights of the Child, United Nations, General Comment No. 12 (2009), paragraphs 127 and seq., https://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/crc/docs/advanceversions/crc-c-gc-...

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Lever les bannières de la liberté : Activisme et participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Université de Moncton

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Lever les bannières de la liberté : Activisme et participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12

Cours d’été relatif aux droits de l’enfant

Université de Moncton

Appel de proposition

Appel de proposition

Cours d’été international relatif aux droits de l’enfant

12e édition

Du 25 au 30 juin 2023, Université de Moncton, Canada

Lever les bannières de la liberté - Activisme et participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes à la lumière de l’article 12 de la CIDE

« Les jeunes sont capables, lorsqu’ils sont stimulés, de faire tomber les tours de l’oppression et de lever les bannières de la liberté. », Nelson Mandela

Le Cours d’été international relatif aux droits de l’enfant est un forum privilégié d’échanges pour les professionnelles et professionnels exerçant auprès des enfants. Il contribue à la promotion des meilleures pratiques et des droits de l’enfant en tant que droits fondamentaux de l’être humain en vertu de la Convention internationale relative aux droits de l’enfant (CIDE). Il a aussi pour objectif d’inciter les décideuses et décideurs à élaborer des politiques publiques et des programmes pour protéger l’intérêt supérieur des enfants au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Canada et partout dans le monde. La 12e édition du Cours d’été portera sur une réflexion collective autour des enjeux liés à l’activisme et à la participation citoyenne des enfants et des jeunes et l’article 12 de la CIDE.

Au même titre que la non-discrimination, l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant, et la survie et le développement de l’enfant, la participation est l’un des grands principes et valeurs fondamentales de la Convention et son application s’étend à l’ensemble de ses articles. Toutefois, un article spécifique lui est dédié puisque l’article 12 stipule « les États parties garantissent à l'enfant qui est capable de discernement le droit d'exprimer librement son opinion sur toute question l'intéressant, les opinions de l'enfant étant dûment prises en considération eu égard à son âge et à son degré de maturité »[1].

Aussi, le Comité des droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies renforce le droit à une participation informée et significative puisqu’il statut dans son Observation générale n°12 que « Tous les processus dans le cadre desquels l’opinion et la participation d’un ou de plusieurs enfants sont sollicitées doivent être: transparents et instructifs, volontaires, respectueux, pertinents, adaptés aux enfants, inclusifs, appuyés par la formation, sûrs et tenant compte des risques, et responsables ».

Toutefois, dans la plupart des sociétés, l’application du droit de l’enfant d’exprimer son opinion sur le large éventail de questions qui l’intéressent, et de voir cette opinion dûment prise en compte, continue d’être entravée par de nombreuses pratiques et mentalités profondément ancrées et par des obstacles politiques et économiques[2].

Dans ce contexte, quelles sont les politiques et stratégies à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre pour permettre l’exercice de ce droit? Quels sont les mécanismes qui permettent, dans les secteurs formels ou informels, de proposer une réponse effective pour permettre à ces enfants et ces jeunes de participer de manière informée et significative? Comment pouvons-nous former et équiper toutes les parties prenantes travaillant et prenant des décisions pour les enfants afin qu’elles soient bien informées et respectueuses du droit de l’enfant à participer?

Le Comité organisateur invite les professionnelles et professionnels du monde entier et du Canada à partager des initiatives ou réflexions qui cherchent des réponses à ces questions afin de pouvoir échanger lors de la prochaine édition du Cours d’été.

Les Comités scientifique et organisateur du Cours d’été invitent les chercheuses, les chercheurs, les professionnelles et les professionnels praticiens à proposer des communications qui englobent l’analyse conceptuelle, la mise en œuvre ou encore l’évaluation des thèmes proposés. Ce forum d’échanges pluridisciplinaires se tiendra au sein du Campus de l’Université de Moncton, Canada. La formation s’adresse au personnel de première ligne des bureaux de surveillance des droits de l’enfant, dans les écoles, dans les milieux de protection de l’enfance, dans le secteur de la santé, le secteur des loisirs, le secteur de la sécurité publique et les secteurs communautaires qui travaillent principalement avec et au nom des enfants et des jeunes. Le cours d’été de cette année fait partie d’un cycle multidisciplinaire de trois ans visant à former le personnel de première ligne aux principes de base de la mise en œuvre des droits de l’enfant. Un format hybride du Cours d’été est envisagé.

Tous les professionnels(les) et les chercheurs(es) de différents horizons sont invités à intervenir en fonction des thèmes généraux ci-dessous :

 

THÈMES

1 - Activisme et participation citoyenne en lien avec le droit à un environnement sain et le droit au meilleur état de santé et de développement possible

Les articles 24 et 29 de la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies fournissent des droits de protection de l’enfant en ce qui a trait à l’environnement.

L’article 24 est lié au droit de l’enfant de jouir du meilleur état de santé possible, y compris le droit de disposer d’aliments sains et d’eau potable ainsi que d’être protégé contre la pollution.

L’article 29 est lié au droit de l’enfant à l’information relative aux questions de santé environnementale. Il définit en outre l’éducation à l’environnement comme un des objectifs de l’éducation.

En outre, le droit à un environnement sûr et propre est une priorité mondiale identifiée dans les objectifs 6 et 7 du Programme de développement durable de l’UNICEF à l'horizon 2030[3].

Pourtant, 1.7 million d’enfants perdent la vie chaque année en raison de problèmes environnementaux qui auraient pu être évités. D’autres millions d’enfants sont forcés de quitter leur foyer, d’abandonner l’école et souffrent de maladies[4].

Face à ce constat, des jeunes activistes partout dans le monde, à l’instar de Greta Thunberg en Suède qui se bat pour la réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone, se mobilisent et militent pour la cause.

Au Canada, Autumn Peltier n'avait que 8 ans lorsqu'elle a prononcé son premier discours en faveur de l'accès à l'eau potable dans les réserves autochtones du Canada. Depuis, l'adolescente de la Première Nation Wikwemikong est devenue une porte-parole mondiale de cette cause, portant ce message lors de la conférence de la Journée de l'eau des Nations Unies en 2018[5].

Le Comité des droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies se mobilise également et travaille actuellement à la rédaction d’une Observation générale sur les droits de l’enfant et l’environnement avec un accent particulier sur le changement climatique (Observation générale n°26). Plus important encore, elle est façonnée par les enfants et les jeunes et en particulier par les communautés les plus touchées par la crise environnementale.

Le Comité scientifique invite des contributions portant sur l’importance des droits de l’enfant en lien avec le changement climatique, et des droits à un environnement sain et au meilleur état de santé et de développement possible. Les initiatives du secteur public, du secteur privé et de la société civile sont sollicitées afin de bien identifier les éléments de réussite en lien avec ces enjeux.

 

2 - Activisme et participation citoyenne en lien avec la protection contre les discriminations et l’inclusion — Enjeux des communautés minoritaires, dont LGBTQIA+ et Premières Nations

La non-discrimination est l’un des grands principes de la CIDE et à ce titre gouverne la mise en oeuvre de l’ensemble de ses articles.

Face aux entraves encore trop nombreuses à cette valeur fondamentale, les enfants et les jeunes se mobilisent et militent en faveur d’une société inclusive et respectueuse.

Par exemple, le mouvement Black Lives Matter est un mouvement politique né en 2013 aux États-Unis au sein de la communauté afro-américaine, qui milite contre le racisme systémique et se bat pour apporter justice, guérison et liberté aux communautés noires à travers le monde.

Au Canada, des organisations comme Equitas se mobilisent pour offrir l’opportunité aux jeunes partout au pays de participer à des conversations nationales sur l'égalité, l'inclusion et la diversité et apprendre à répondre aux problèmes de leur communauté en lançant des projets d'action communautaire[6].

Aux Etats-Unis, Jazz Jennings milite pour défendre les droits de la communauté LGBTQIA+. En 2007, à l'âge de 6 ans, elle s'exprime dans une intervention télévisée sur les difficultés d'être un enfant transgenre. Elle est l'une des plus jeunes personnes identifiées publiquement comme transgenres.

Le Comité scientifique invite des propositions de conférences traitant des mouvements et initiatives en lien avec le droit à la participation et le droit à la protection contre les discriminations ou à l’éducation et la sensibilisation à différentes cultures et à l’inclusion.

 

3 - Activisme et participation citoyenne en lien avec la santé mentale et les services disponibles en santé mentale

L’article 24 reconnaît aux enfants et aux jeunes le droit de jouir du meilleur état de santé possible. Au delà de la santé physique, le droit à la santé des enfants et des jeunes s’entend également par un droit au bien-être de manière générale et se comprend par le droit à un traitement approprié en terme de santé mentale.

Selon les estimations mondiales disponibles les plus récentes, plus d’un adolescent sur sept âgé de 10 à 19 ans vivrait avec un trouble mental diagnostiqué[7]. Près de 46 000 adolescents se suicident chaque année, ce qui en fait l’une des cinq principales causes de décès pour cette tranche d’âge. Parallèlement, des écarts significatifs persistent entre les besoins en matière de santé mentale et les financements consacrés à cette problématique.

Aussi, les effets néfastes de la pandémie se font sentir de manière significative sur la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, de plus en plus de jeunes reportant connaître une augmentation du sentiment de stress et d’anxiété depuis les dernières années.

De plus en plus, les jeunes prennent la parole et se mobilisent pour un meilleur accès aux soins de services en santé mentale, et notamment se mobilisent et s’ouvrent pour parler librement et partager leurs expériences vécues.

Partout dans le monde, des plateformes telles qu’Headspace en Australie, Jigsaw en Irlande, ou encore Foundry ou Accès Esprit Ouvert au Canada voient le jour et permettent aux enfants et aux jeunes d’entrer en contact avec d’autres jeunes, de s’approprier un espace et des outils pour leur propre santé mentale, ou d’entrer en contact avec un professionnel.

Aussi, dans le domaine de la recherche, le droit des enfants et des jeunes de participer et d’avoir leur opinion dûment pris en considération dans les recherches qui les concernent se fait une place parmi les bonnes pratiques.

De plus en plus, l’adage « Rien à propos de nous sans nous » et la mise en oeuvre de pratiques « Par et pour les jeunes » trouvent leur place et sont revendiquées et défendues par les jeunes.

Le Comité scientifique invite des propositions traitant des pratiques prometteuses, des études de cas, des politiques ou des programmes permettant de mieux mettre en œuvre le droit à la participation des enfants et jeunes en lien avec leur santé mentale et leur implication significative dans les matières qui les concernent.

 

4 - Activisme et participation citoyenne en lien avec la participation à la justice et à la vie politique

L’article 12 de la Convention met un accent particulier sur la prise en compte de l’opinion de l’enfant dans « toute procédure judiciaire ou administrative ».

Ainsi, un premier volet de ce droit comprend la participation des enfants et des jeunes devant les tribunaux; droit qui va au-delà d’une simple liberté d’expression. Ce droit concerne autant les enfants ayant des démêlés avec le système de justice pénale, que les enfants victimes d’une infraction pénale, ou que les enfants impliquées dans des procédures aux affaires familiales, par exemple en matière de garde ou d’adoption.

Le Comité des droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies, dans son Observation générale n°12[8] réitère l’importance de ce droit fondamental dans le contexte de la justice pour enfant. Dans le même sens, le Comité dans son Observation générale n°24[9] s’adresse aux États membres plusieurs recommandations afin de garantir une participation effective des enfants à la procédure. En ce sens, les initiatives de justice adaptée aux enfants s’imposent comme meilleures pratiques dans le domaine.

La participation à la justice peut également prendre la forme d’actions menées directement par les enfants et les jeunes pour la défense de leur droits et de leurs intérêts. Ainsi, de nombreux recours collectifs formés par des jeunes ont vu le jour aux quatre coins du monde.

Un second volet de ce droit comprend la participation des enfants et des jeunes à la vie politique.

Dans l’esprit d’une démocratie associative et participative, la CIDE dans son préambule insiste sur l’importance « de préparer pleinement l’enfant à avoir une vie individuelle dans la société ». Ainsi, les enfants et les jeunes devraient participer au processus décisionnel avec les adultes sur les enjeux de leur vie sociale, politique, économique, etc.

Selon le Comité des droits de l’enfant, dans son Observation générale n°12[10] il importe de prévoir des différentes méthodes pour la participation des enfants à l’échelon de la communauté, national et international. Les systèmes de conseils municipaux jeunesse ou encore de parlement jeunesse favorisent l’application de ce droit.

Le Comité scientifique sollicite des propositions portant sur des initiatives, des meilleures pratiques, des études de cas ou des exemples de recours collectifs, des interventions judiciaires, des campagnes politiques, des plaintes relatives aux droits de l’homme et d’autres moyens par lesquels des enfants ont fait valoir leurs droits devant des tribunaux judiciaires ou administratifs ou bien des processus et procédures par lesquels ces tribunaux ont accueilli ou facilité la participation des enfants et des jeunes.

 

5 - Thèmes variés

Les thèmes proposés ci-dessus ne se prétendent en aucun cas exclusifs. Par conséquent, un nombre limité de propositions pourront aborder d’autres aspects n’ayant pas été mentionnés, pourvu que celles-ci cadrent avec le sujet général du Cours d’été, tel que décrit précédemment.

 

TYPES DE COMMUNICATIONS

Le format de présentation envisagé doit être précisé dans les propositions de communication. Voici les quatre formats acceptés :

Table ronde : D’une durée de 1 h à 3 h, la table ronde permet la présentation de communication par plusieurs conférenciers et peut porter sur une problématique précise. Il est nécessaire dans votre proposition de soumettre un titre, un résumé des interventions ainsi que le nom des intervenantes et intervenants et la durée souhaitée en tenant compte des périodes de discussions et du nombre d’intervenants.

Présentation orale : La durée des communications (entre 15 et 30 minutes) sera déterminée par les membres du comité organisateur en fonction du nombre de communications reçues.

Atelier : Les ateliers sont d’une durée de 20, 60 ou 90 minutes. Ils portent sur l’utilisation d’un outil, d’une pratique ou d’une approche et sont offerts à des sous-groupes de participantes et participants.

Communication par affiche : Ce format donne la possibilité de présenter des résultats d’une recherche, d’une approche, d’un outil ou d’une pratique sous forme d’affiche. Les dimensions de l’affiche ne doivent pas dépasser 60 cm x 120 cm (2 pi x 4 pi) en format portrait ou 120 cm x 60 cm (4 pi x 2 pi) en format paysage. Vous devez soumettre le résumé de votre communication par affiche.

Le Comité organisateur s’efforcera de respecter les choix indiqués, mais se réserve le droit de proposer un autre format le cas échéant.

Les propositions par les enfants et les jeunes eux-mêmes sont activement encouragées pour cette édition du Cours d’été. Des programmes distincts pour les enfants et les jeunes seront disponibles tout au long de la semaine, mais les enfants et les jeunes seront encouragés à présenter aux côtés de leurs pairs adultes et à co-créer avec eux en tant qu’apprenants tout au long de l’événement. Veuillez consulter l’appel de propositions en ligne pour les présentations par les enfants et les jeunes, mais des panels mixtes de conférenciers adultes et jeunes sont également les bienvenus en réponse à cet appel de propositions.

 

MODALITÉS DE SOUMISSIONS ET POSSIBILITÉS DE PUBLICATION

Les personnes souhaitant soumettre une proposition afin de faire une présentation orale dans l’une des deux langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Canada - français ou anglais - sont invitées à le faire.

La proposition de communication doit respecter les critères suivants, sans quoi elle pourrait ne pas être évaluée :

  • Le résumé de proposition doit être d’une demi-page maximum. Veuillez indiquer le sujet de réflexion (Thème 1, 2, 3, 4 ou autre thème), donner un titre à votre proposition, et préciser le format de communication que vous aurez choisi.
  • Le résumé de proposition doit être accompagné d’une courte biographie (250 mots maximum) et d’une photo envoyée dans deux documents distincts en format Word ou PDF. Votre proposition de communication (document en format Word ou PDF) ne doit pas contenir d’éléments permettant de vous identifier.
  • Veuillez également indiquer si vous souhaitez publier votre communication dans la Revue de l’Université de Moncton. Les directives de publication seront remises aux auteures et auteurs dont la participation est confirmée.

Veuillez soumettre votre proposition avant le 31 décembre 2022. Les propositions seront analysées par le Comité scientifique et évaluées selon leur aptitude à enrichir le dialogue.

*NOTEZ LA DATE LIMITE REPORTÉE AU 31 DÉCEMBRE 2022*

Soumettre votre candidature

[1] Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant, Nations Unies, https://www.ohchr.org/fr/instruments-mechanisms/instruments/convention-r...

[2] Résolution S-27/2, «Un monde digne des enfants», adoptée par l’Assemblée générale en 2002. CRC/C/GC/12

[3] L’UNICEF et les objectifs de développement durable, Investir en faveur des enfants et des jeunes pour parvenir а un monde plus йquitable, plus juste et plus durable pour tous, https://www.unicef.org/fr/objectifs-de-developpement-durable

[4] Comité des droits de l’enfant des Nations Unies, Observation générale n°26, https://childrightsenvironment.org/fr/a-propos/

[5] Journée de l’eau des Nations Unies, Autumn Peltier, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zg60sr38oic

[6] Equitas, programme Speaking Rights, https://speakingrights.ca

[7] La situation des enfants dans le monde 2021 ; Dans ma tête : Promouvoir, protéger et prendre en charge la santé mentale des enfants, https://www.unicef.org/fr/rapports/situation-enfants-dans-le-monde-2021

[8] Comité des droits de l’enfant, Nations Unies, Observation générale n°12 (2009), paragraphes 57 à 64, https://bettercarenetwork.org/sites/default/files/Observation%20Generale...

[9] Comité des droits de l’enfant, Nations Unies, Observation générale n°24 (2019), paragraphe 46, https://documents-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/G19/275/58/PDF/G1927558.pd...

[10] Comité des droits de l’enfant, Nations Unies, Observation générale n°12 (2009), paragraphes 127 et suivants, https://bettercarenetwork.org/sites/default/files/Observation%20Generale...