Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Entrée, Nils-Udo

Entrée, Nils-Udo

The first work of art made in the Millennium Ecological Park is Entrée, created by German artist Nils-Udo in 2002. A metaphore for an entrance in a new relation with nature, the living work of art is made with a triangle of flagstones surrounded by a hedge of american cranberry bushes (viburnum trilobum). Three boulders found during the hill’s excavation were placed in the artwork.

The artist

Nils-Udo is a pioneer of environmental art from Bavaria, a region in southern Germany. Painter in his youth, he found his passion for nature art by collecting materials during long walks in nature. En 1972, he leased land in Chiemgau, Upper Bavaria, from farmers who couldn’t grow anything on them. On these plots, he furthered his knowledge in botany and forestry.

Nils-Udo then became photographer, capturing the growing state of his plantations year after year. He worked by himself until 1978, when he was invited to an artists’ meeting for the first time. Since then, he cooperates with other artists, either in the environmental domain or from other disciplines. He is known for cooperating with Peter Gabriel, for the cover of his album Ovo.

Contrary to American land art artists from the 1970s who moved mountains with bulldozers, Nils-Udo never interferes violently with the surroundings. Several recurring shapes are found in his work – his first works in the plantations featured circles and hills, and he works a lot with floating islands and nests. Nature’s progress and deterioration is an essential theme in his art.

Laureate of several international awards, Nils-Udo never narrowed his gaze to only Europe. His expositions were sponsored around the world : in France, Italy, Greece, Japan, Canada, United States, in India and in Mexico.

Galerie

Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

Original concept
Original concept
Planting the american cranberry bushes
Flagstone placement
Artist Nils-Udo with John K. Grande, author and art critic
The finished product
Entrée, fall of 2003
Entrée, summer of 2015
Campus d'edmundston

165, boulevard Hébert

Edmundston NB E3V 2S8, Canada

info@umce.ca

506 737-5049

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)

Campus de Moncton

18, avenue Antonine-Maillet

Moncton NB E1A 3E9, Canada

info@umoncton.ca

506 858-4000

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)

Campus de Shippagan

218, boulevard J.-D.-Gauthier

Shippagan NB E8S 1P6, Canada

umcs.info@umoncton.ca

506 336-3400

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Parc écologique du millénaire

Université de Moncton

Entrée, Nils-Udo

Entrée, Nils-Udo

La première œuvre du Parc Écologique s'intitule « Entrée », créée par l'artiste allemand Nils-Udo en 2002. Métaphore pour une entrée dans une nouvelle relation avec la nature, l'œuvre vivante est composée d'un triangle de dalles de pierres entouré d'une haie de viornes trilobées (viburnum trilobum). Trois rochers trouvées pendant l'excavation de la colline ont été placées dans l'œuvre.

L'artiste

Nils-Udo est un pionnier de l'art environnemental, originaire de la région allemande de Bavière. Peintre dans sa jeunesse, il trouva sa passion pour l'art environnemental en récoltant des matériaux lors de longues promenades en nature. En 1972, il loua des terres dans le Chiemgau, en Haute-Bavière, à des fermiers qui avaient du mal à les cultiver; c'est sur ces parcelles qu'il entretint des plantations, absorbant des connaissances dans les domaines de la botanique et de la sylviculture.

Nils-Udo devint alors photographe, capturant l’état de ses plantations d’année en année. Il a fait son travail dans la solitude jusqu’en 1978, quand il fut invité pour la première fois à une rencontre d’artistes. Depuis, il coopère avec d’autres artistes environnementaux, et d’autres disciplines, dont Peter Gabriel pour la couverture de son album Ovo.

Contrairement aux artistes américains du land art qui déplacent des montagnes au bulldozer, Nils-Udo n'intervient jamais violemment dans le milieu. Plusieurs formes reviennent constamment dans son travail : ses premières œuvres dans les plantations usaient du cercle et de la colline, mais d’autres thèmes récurrents incluent les îles flottantes et les nids. La progression et la dégradation de la nature sont essentielles dans son travail.

Lauréat de plusieurs prix internationaux, Nils-Udo ne s’est jamais restreint à l’Europe. Ses expositions furent commanditées partout dans le monde, soit en France, en Italie, en Grèce, au Japon, aux États-Unis, en Inde et au Mexique.

Galerie

Avertissement : Le contenu de ce site Internet est protégé par le droit d’auteur. Toute reproduction est interdite. / Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

Original concept
Original concept
Planting the american cranberry bushes
Flagstone placement
Artist Nils-Udo with John K. Grande, author and art critic
The finished product
Entrée, fall of 2003
Entrée, summer of 2015
Campus d'edmundston

165, boulevard Hébert

Edmundston NB E3V 2S8, Canada

info@umce.ca

506 737-5049

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)

Campus de Moncton

18, avenue Antonine-Maillet

Moncton NB E1A 3E9, Canada

info@umoncton.ca

506 858-4000

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)

Campus de Shippagan

218, boulevard J.-D.-Gauthier

Shippagan NB E8S 1P6, Canada

umcs.info@umoncton.ca

506 336-3400

Sans frais: 1 800 363-8336

(Canada et États-Unis)