Annual Report 2016-2017 - page 10

2016-2017 Annual Report
Jean-François Richard appointed
to the Maritime Provinces
Higher Education Commission
Jean-François Richard, Associate
Vice-President, Academic and
Faculty Affairs, was appointed
Chair of the Maritime Provinces
Higher Education Commission
for a two-year term.
Percy Mockler visits the
Moncton campus
While visiting the Moncton campus
in February, Senator Percy Mockler
talked with Professor Suzanne Dupuis-
Blanchard, who holds the Consortium
national de formation en santé Research
Chair in Population Aging, Université
de Moncton, and representatives of the
Association francophone des aînés du
Nouveau-Brunswick about priorities
related to the aging population.
The first Wela’lin Festival was
held at the Moncton campus
The first annual Wela’lin Festival, held
at the Moncton campus in March,
provided an opportunity for the Greater
Moncton community to meet with
members of the province’s First Nations.
Several activities were organized for the
occasion, including a luncheon meeting
and musical performances.
fundraising campaign
Both Université de Moncton graduates and former premiers of
the province, Bernard Lord and Camille Thériault have agreed
to co-chair the Université de Moncton’s
campaign, which seeks to raise $50 million, will
enable the Université de Moncton to develop five priority projects
with two main focuses: excellence in student experience and
excellence in research and development. The target projects are
the Scholarship and Bursary Program, facility upgrading, the
Hub of Excellence in Acadian studies, the Hub of Excellence
in Environmental Science, and the New Brunswick Centre for
Precision Medicine.
Bleu et Or
Order of Merit
The Université de Moncton highlighted the exemplary
contribution of three graduates who received the
Bleu et Or
Order of Merit, the institution’s most prestigious distinction,
awarded annually to graduates who have demonstrated
outstanding academic achievement and extracurricular
leadership. The recipients for the 2016–2017 academic year are
Nicolette M. Belliveau, who graduated with a bachelor’s degree
in social sciences (specialization in political science); Judith
Desjardins, who graduated with a bachelor’s degree in social
work; and Mélissa Andrée Roy, who graduated with a bachelor’s
degree in business administration (concentration in finance).
Strategic planning areas
1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,...32
Powered by FlippingBook